Topic: Question regarding Gnostisicm

I know that the Metahistory.org site is popular among people, and it ignited a desire within me to further explore Gnosticism.  I happened to have a book on hand by Abbot George Bucke called Gniostic Christianity, and I'm just beginning it.  Already there are contradictions to the Metahistory site (John's views), and I wanted to ask about these.

First off, Burke has different views on the Archons.  He claims there were seven, and that they are nearly perfect and are expressions of the divine will.  However, the Archon Lucifer was fundamentally flawed, and that precipitated his fall.  He's the one who worked to pervert Adam and Eve, thus causing our Fall as well.  John, however, states that all Archons are the architects of lies and destruction.

He also has a different take on the eating of the apple.  On the Metahistory site, John states that the Archons were the false god (Yaweh) who put the taboo against eating of the tree of knowlege in order to keep Adam and Eve ignorant.  Burke states that it was the serpent (Lucifer) who was the false one, encouraging them to eat from the tree before they were ready in order to cause them to fall.

These are just two points of divergence, but they seem like important ones to me.  Could those who have explored Gnosticism share their input?

2 (edited by Barefoot Doc 2006-07-02 07:05:17)

Re: Question regarding Gnostisicm

Hi Lono i too would be interested in anyones  thoughts on the story of Adam and Eve and the two basic versions or interpretations. Jeremy Narby's book the cosmic serpent talks about DMT and shaman taking thier awareness down to the level of DNA and see's the serpent shape as symbology of dna strands and knowledge from this realm. The serpent represents knowledge or the unseen and femine energy too perhaps? the snake may have become somewhat demonised over the years.

Its not like we are fractions of the whole but rather versions of the whole.